Friday, November 22, 2019
How to get Your CDL in Alabama, Arkansas and Mississippi
How to get Your CDL in Alabama, Arkansas and Mississippi This article is useful for anyone who wants to get a CDL in Alabama, Arkansas and Mississippi. If you want to learn about earning a CDL at other states, we have put together a comprehensive guide on how to get a commercial driverÃ¢â¬â¢s license in every state of the country. AlabamaBefore You Apply for Your CDL1. Get youÃ doctor to fill outÃ the current Department of Transportation Medical Examination Report (Form 649-F)2. Learn or reviewÃ the rules and regulations of commercial driving. You can study these in AlabamaÃ¢â¬â¢s Commercial Driver License Manual.How to ApplyTake the following documents to your nearest Driver License Division office (make sure to research ahead for one that handles CDLs!):A current Alabama driverÃ¢â¬â¢s licenseA Social Security card or other proof of Social Security numberYour current DOT medical certificate (from above)Proof of insurance for the testing vehicle if you are taking the skills test$25 for the written test, $20 for the skills testL icense fees vary depending on your desiredÃ class of license. Class A costs $66.25; Class B costs $56.25; Class Ccosts $36.25. If you are purchasing a CDLÃ or a license to operate only a school bus, the fee is $36.25.What to Expect When TestingFirst, on test day,Ã you will take one or more knowledge tests (which are written), depending on the license and endorsements you want.Then, if you pass the knowledge tests, you qualify to take the skills test (which is a driving test). Another option at this point is choosing toÃ be issued a learnerÃ¢â¬â¢s license, which will allow you to practice drivingÃ a rig with a licensed commercial driver in the passenger seat.When you feel Ã ready to take the on-road driving test, you can make another appointment atÃ the CDL licensing office.Ã The driving skills test includes: vehicle inspection (where you mustÃ prove your vehicleÃ¢â¬â¢s safety and show your inspection skills), vehicle control (you will be asked to drive forward, backward, and in turns, in a smallÃ area), and the actual driving test (this tests how well you knowÃ Ã signs, driving laws, and regulations).ArkansasBefore you take your certification exams, you must assess your driving record. If you have any serious offenses, likeÃ DUI, you may be disqualified.The Knowledge TestsYou must pass the written knowledge test before you can take your road skills test. In order to familiarize yourself with the content of the exam, study the ArkansasÃ CDL ManualÃ to learn about driver safety, cargo safety, equipment, traffic rules, inspection procedures, and hazardous materials.To bring on test day:Documents that prove your age and identity$42, which is the fee for your CDLIf you haul hazardous materials, you will need to have federalÃ background and fingerprint check.The Road Skills TestAfter you have passed the written tests, you are ready for the road skills test.Ã On this test, you will be asked to perform driver tasks including pre-t rip inspections, changing lanes, tying down cargo, and maneuvering intersections.Ã The Arkansas CDL Manual review everything you will be tested on- review the criteria before test day so you are familiar with the tasks you will face.RequirementsYou must self-certify one of the following driving categories with the Arkansas DMV:Non-Excepted InterstateExcepted InterstateNon-Excepted IntrastateExcepted IntrastateIf you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.MississippiTo obtain a CDL in Mississippi, you must hold aÃ Regular Class R driverÃ¢â¬â¢s license. You must also obtain a current medical card when applying.Testing for the CDLNext stop is to take and pass the written and skills tests. All the information you need to know about the exam is in the Professional DriverÃ¢â¬â¢s Manual, which you can find at anyÃ driverÃ¢â¬â¢s license officeÃ throughout the state. You can schedule an appointment for the driving test either Ã onlineÃ or by phone.What You Must BringYour valid Mississippi driverÃ¢â¬â¢s license, a CDL learnerÃ¢â¬â¢s permit, and your completed application for your desired CDLAnother driver to accompany you who holds the same class CDL license (or greater) as the one you seekA current medical cardThe same class of vehicle you will be driving once you obtain your CDL (it must pass inspection before any tests will be administered)A Social Security cardProof of residency (electric or water bill, lease agreement, vehicle-registration receipt, mortgage documents, homestead exemption receipt, bank statement, notarized employer verification on company letterhead (with a phone number) that states your address)Appropriate feesOut-of-state applicants applying for a Mississippi CDL can use their valid driverÃ¢â¬â¢s license from another stateNote: If your job entails hauling hazardous materials, you must undergo a background check. You will have to complete aÃ DriverÃ¢â¬â¢s License Hazard ous Materials Endorsement ApplicationÃ and pay a fee.